Public holidays

Some public holidays do not have fixed dates, in particular Easter and Islamic holidays, which are based on the Lunar calendar.

  • 1st Jan – New years Day
  • 1st May – Labour Day
  • 25th May – Independence day
  • 25th Dec – Christmas Day
  • Eid al-Fitr A 3 or 4-day feast marking the end of Ramadan
  • Eid al-Adha A 4 day feast at the end of the Hajj, or month of pilgrimage to Mecca
  • First of Muharam Islamic New Year
  • The Birthday of Prophet Mohammed (PBUH)